I just made a new Voki. See it here:

My Online Learning Experience (full text version):

Last Wednesday we used a chatroom as an entire class as well as Skyped in individual groups to work on an assignment on Google drive.  I actually really liked having the class on the chatroom and via Skype as opposed to just sitting down by myself on Wednesday mornings and sifting through the material for the day.  The chatroom was cool because Milissa could address the whole class and for what we needed it for, we didn’t really need to respond, so one-way communication was fine.  I liked the chat box in the corner where we could type anything if necessary though.  The Skype calling worked for the most part…one of my group members never did sign in, but as far as connection and background noise, everything worked quite well.  I really liked having my group on Skype while we were working on the article reviews.  Being able to all type on the same document at the same time was a very neat, collaborative tool I found very practical for using with students in the future.  One of the main reasons I don’t like Wednesday classes as good as Monday is because I have no one to ask (in person) about the task at hand, but with my group on Skype, I could ask them anything right then and there!

2 thoughts on “I just made a new Voki. See it here:

  1. I know what you mean when you say that it was nice for a change to Skype with our classmates rather than sitting at home trying to figure it out on your own so hopefully we get to Skype and use the Adobe Meeting website again!

  2. You are very fortunate that every thing worked well. Our group experienced a lot of difficulty with background noise and connection so it is reassuring to know that it can be a useful tool, depending on the circumstance. I am very happy/relieved to hear you liked the chat box in the corner where we could type anything if necessary haha. Also, I really enjoyed your “Voki”! I have never heard of that tool before but can see immediate benefits to using it in the class. One of the pedagogy strategies Harry Wong used was for students to have work at their desk as soon as they start their day. Teachers could use voki for independent instruction at the start of a day. In addition, students who struggle to present in front of the class could use their voki personalities for presentations.

Leave a Reply

